Getting in Shape

Hot smile     Ok…..I’m taking a break from politics for a night to talk to you about something a bit more sane. Alien

     For about the last eight weeks, I have been getting up at 5:00 a.m. and working out at least four or five days out of the week. This insanity is not for everyone, but, if you are up to it, I HIGHLY recommend doing this. Looking back, I guess I have always been a fan of staying in shape, but lately, it seems much more important than it has. Maybe I am attempting to hang on to my youth as long as possible….or maybe it is the threat of the heart stress test that Dr. Guild promised me when I was in for my last physical, or maybe I’m just doing it because I know it needs to be done, but I do know for sure that I feel great when I am getting my workouts throughout the week.

    Saturday, my part time salesperson recommended that I use kettleballs for a few weeks to break up the boredom of working out. If you don’t know what I’m talking about, check out the link in my blog roll (ExRx.net) and type “kettleball workout” into the search engine. These motions utilize several different muscle groupings at the same time. It looks scary!! I’ll post results from time to time as I change workouts. Lord willing, I’m going to start the P90X program in March to get all buffed and macho for summer…hehehehehe……maybe Mrs. Dawg will gimme a look or two???Winking smile

   My point is this….it only takes about 30 minutes, four times a week to do something special for yourself. Whether you walk, ride an exercise bike, lift weights, or jog, do yourself and the people you love a favor….get in shape! There are so many workout programs available, and the link I gave you (ExRx.net) can help you get started. Lets face it…..will you miss 30 minutes of TV three nights a week? With the junk that’s on lately, I would say “NO”! The benefits of doing this far outweigh the time you’ll miss from “Dancing With the Biggest Losers” or whatever they have now! Besides, you’ll have more to talk about at work during the week. Get friends and family involved….form a support group for slimming down or buffing up…..but lose the excuses and JUST DO IT! For your sake, and for the sake of the people who love you…..like ME! Smile

Keep the Faith!
The Atomic Dawg

About Allen Ray

I'm not famous, I don't have a book out, and I live in a flyover state. I will, however, tell it like it is.
This entry was posted in Fitness and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

