The Atomic Workout !

Hi Kids!

Happy New Year to all of you, and may God bless you throughout the year!

Earlier, I let the cat out of the bag that the ole’ Dawg was getting up at 5 a.m. Monday thru Saturday and doing a 30 minute workout each day. Its been a few years since the last time I decided to get it in shape, and I always wonder why I stopped!  Well, the New Year results are in. I’ll give you the reader’s digest version of the numbers.

I am at 157 pounds, with a BMI (Body Mass Index) of 22.6. That is down from September, 2010, when I weighed 172 with a BMI of 24.7.

Not a bad start to the year. But here’s the kicker. Starting tomorrow, I plan on ramping things up a bit and taking my workouts to the next level. Because my weight is where I want it, I am going to cut back one day on the cardio. However, the resistance training will be intensified. I am doing all of this so I can start the P90X program in March! That will be interesting!

So now you’re asking, why am I doing this? My reply is simple…..I am 45 years old…and I feel like I am 21 again. My hair may be graying, but my body looks younger every day. I will never look like one of those steroid laden muscle heads you see on the cover of the bodybuilding magazines….that is not my goal….and it should not be yours. My goal is to have the energy and stamina to do the things I want to do in life….and if I can walk by the mirror on my way to the shower and not cringe……BONUS!

Now…….why did I throw these statistics and that story at you? Am I rubbing it in? Am I bragging? No! By no means! I just want you to realize that in three months, you can drop fifteen pounds by simply changing a few habits.

The first, trimming down the meals. Pay attention to what you eat and when. Focus on small, healthy meals several times a day. There are awesome, tasty new food supplements out that make it easier to be a healthy eater. Do some taste testing. Do NOT skip meals! Especially BREAKFAST!! This makes your body freak out and start storing fat instead of burning it…this works against you! Always think “high protein, medium calorie, low fat” when it comes to main meals, and lay off the junk food! (ok…..once in awhile, cheat…but then feel guilty and go back to your healthy meals…HA!!!)

Second, exercise for thirty minutes a day, five to six days a week. Yours truly lifts weights on Monday, Wednesday, and Friday, and does cardio on Tuesday, Thursday, and Saturday. Now, if you’re insane like me, getting this done early in the morning is the way to go! It gets me up, rowdy, and ready to kick major butt all day long when I do a morning workout. But not everyone is a morning person….so do the evening routine, BUT BE CAREFUL! I find it much easier to get busy at night and skip the workouts! The main thing is this…..find a thirty minute time frame that suits you, and stick with it!

    Now there are some pretty awesome new routines out there that make exercise interesting. Look into them thoroughly. Don’t just watch the infomercial, really study them. Look at online information on if they work or not. I will give you a little bit of advice; there is not a lot of things you can’t do with a few dumbbells, a jump rope, and your own body weight for resistance. I recommend the website www.ExRx.net as a start to finding what fits your needs. It’s the most comprehensive exercise website I have ever seen.

Finally…change things up every few months! Sticking to one way of exercising leads to boredom and failure. The big thing we’re trying to accomplish here is to get in shape…..have fun with it! The main idea is….don’t stop moving!

Please, if you need direction, advice, or a way to get going….or even if you have a story of your own………drop me a line on this blog!

About Allen Ray

I'm not famous, I don't have a book out, and I live in a flyover state. I will, however, tell it like it is.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

